Awesome Folk

Standard

thankyou

I can’t even consider releasing my latest novel, Blood of the Sixth, without giving a giant high five and a shout out to all of the wonderful beta readers who put so much time and thought into giving me wonderful feedback for my novel.  With this book I was brave.  I didn’t hold back asking people to read it before it hit the shelves.  The feedback I have received from these folks is priceless and has given me so much insight into what my readers are thinking.

Beta readers are an author’s life line.  They can mean the difference between a book riddled with errors, inconsistencies and plot holes, or a possible best seller.  Independent authors rely on one another and those awesome bloggers and readers who support us.  Without this fantastic network of people, we would be lost.

I want to thank these amazing people.  Look them up on Twitter, follow them and tell them how truly awesome they are!  I sure think so!

Julie @mousefan98 – Julie was the first person to read my book besides my super talented editor.  This was her first beta read and I must say, she did a wonderful job and gave me some fantastic feedback!  I was so happy I was brave and asked her to read for me.  Julie is one of the coolest people I’ve met on Twitter. She is an avid Walking Dead fan like myself so if you love the show also, go give her a shout!

High Five to Julie!

James SM Parker @absinthe666 – James is the author of Love or Suicide and the Life in Between.  James was a key player in helping me clear up a little confusion at the end of my book.  He enjoys heavy metal too so say hello to him on Twitter, give him the metal horns \m/ and check out his book!

Stay metal my friend.

Phil Price @PhilPrice19 – Phil was my third reader.  Phil boosted my confidence in this story.  Although constructive feedback is important, to hear someone say you have a great story really makes an author feel better about their work.  Phil is the author of the novel Unknown.  I finished it this summer and am patiently waiting for book two!

Keep up the awesome writing!

Melissa Manes @Melissa_Editing – I’m not sure how I was fortunate enough to get Melissa to beta read my book but I am so happy I did.  She not only read it and gave me some valuable suggestions; she gave me some great edits to boot!  If you need a fantastic editor, check out her website scriptionis.com.

Keep the edits coming!

Lisa Orchard @lisaorchard1 – Lisa gave me a ton of great suggestions and I was so lucky to get such an awesome, sweet lady to beta read for me.  Lisa is the author of The Super Spy series and The Starlight Chronicles.  If you enjoy YA, check out her website at lisaorchard.com.  You won’t be disappointed.

Keep the mysteries coming!

Dustin Botta @dustinbotta  — Dustin was the first to point out I used yellow-orange way too often.  I remember thinking one of the times I used it, “Wow that really sounds good.” Being the dork that I am, I probably said that three times, and not realized I’d used it twice already.  I swear I wasn’t drinking while writing. (Well, maybe not.)  Along with that helpful hint, he gave me a ton of edits and great suggestions.  Thank you, Dustin!  Dustin Botta is an author, poet and musician.  Check out his website at dustinbotta.com.

Keep writing, rocking and rolling!

David Spell  @davidwspell – David was a little concerned that I could get into a weirdo’s head so easily and write such a creepy character.  Haha!  I’m a bit of a weirdo so it probably wasn’t too hard for me. Not the kind of weirdo in the book, thank goodness but I am still a weirdo nonetheless.  David is an avid horror reader and gave me a ton of helpful suggestions.  David is super cool, so go over and say hi to him on Twitter and check out his website at thescaryreviews.com.  I guarantee you’ll find a great book there.

Keep blogging those great books!

Rich @horrorbookshelf Rich asked a couple of questions that I’m sure many readers would have asked themselves and really helped me to tie up a few lose ends.  Rich also helped to boost my confidence in the novel.  I really was excited to have him read because I know he is an avid horror reader and reviewer.  I figured he’d know his stuff and he didn’t disappoint. Thanks so much!  Rich has a really cool website where you might find a plethora interesting stuff.  Check it out at thehorrorbookshelf.com.

Keep sharing the scare!

Joseph A. Pinto @JosephAPinto How in the holy crap did I manage to get the co-founder of Pen of the Damned to beta read for me?  I was super brave!  Plus I think I bugged the crap out of him just a little. Haha  I know Joe is a busy fella with his writing and managing POD but he was kind enough to say yes when I asked him to beta read.  Joe also gave me much needed encouragement, confidence and a couple of edits, and for that I am truly appreciative.  If you are out and about, say hi to him over on Twitter, check out PenOfTheDamned.com, or even better, check out his books at his Amazon Author page.

Keep on penning the damned!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Awesome Folk

Leave a Reply

